If you ever get injured in a car accident in Pueblo, Colorado, knowing personal injury laws of the state will help along with an auto injury chiropractor fort worth tx. Auto accidents are often a result of negligence, recklessness, speeding, and/or other factors like weather conditions. In case the accident happened because of someone’s negligence behind the wheel, you must consider talking to a Pueblo auto accident lawyer at the earliest. You may have the scope to file a personal injury lawsuit, to claim compensation for your injuries, losses, and damages. Here are some basic things to know about car accident laws in Colorado.
What to do after an auto crash?
- Firstly, check yourself and others for injuries. If someone needs medical help, call 911 right away.
- Inform the police. You shouldn’t leave the scene, unless the police have investigated the crash. The police report is important for your case.
- Get details. Ask other drivers about their personal and insurance details. If there were witnesses to the accident, get their details too.
- Take evidence. Take as many photographs and videos of the scene as you can. Make sure that you document your injuries and vehicle damage.
- Call a lawyer. If a car accident lawyer starts working on your case right away, you may have better chance of collecting evidence and proving liability.
What damages can you recover?
Your accident lawyer will try to maximize your financial settlement. The damages or losses that you may recover include medical bills, lost income, vehicle damage, and extensive medical treatments. If the accident the resulted in someone’s death, the family may also recover burial and funeral expenses. Your lawyer will also fight for punitive damages, besides asking compensation for your pain and suffering.
Colorado is a modified comparative negligence state
This means that if you have part share of fault, your final compensation will be reduced by your percentage of fault. For instance, if you had 20% fault and were awarded $20,000 in settlement, you will eventually get $16,000. In the real world, insurance companies often try to shift the entire blame on the other driver, which is also one of the key reasons why you need an attorney.
Colorado’s statute of limitations allows only three years to file personal injury lawsuits. Make sure to talk to an attorney immediately after the accident, so that you can gather enough evidence to prove liability and fault. If and by the time your insurance claim is denied, considerable time will be lost.